Home > Break-in, Home > Break-in and Robbery at Occupied House

Break-in and Robbery at Occupied House

Date: Sept 6, 2010


Time: 9:15 pm


Location: Incident lasted 15 minutes


Reported: On my TO DO list


Neighborhood: San Antonio


Crime: Break-in and Robbery at Occupied House


Police: Yes


Message: 
On Tuesday, 6 September,  at 9:00 PM, while my family was having dinner downstairs, a man in his late 20s who appeared to be Mexican, came into my bedroom via the house next door. He climbed onto the tiled roof over the atrium, climbed around the outside window, around the corner of the house and came in through an open second story window by walking on the ledge.

He grabbed my MacBook Pro and Panasonic Lumix camera off a desk.

We heard a lot of breakage, ran into the atrium and looked around. We heard more noise upstairs, so we ran up and saw him shimming on the ledge outside the window, then running across the tiles, to the next door house and disappearing to the far right.

A friend was visiting us at the time, so we took off in our friend’s car to look for the intruder. We came across a police truck and they came back to the house with us. They, looked around and told us to go to the Ministrio Publico to file a report.

I posted a 10,000 peso reward, no questions asked on my Facebook page and the Civil List.                                                                    ——-

To update the above report, the following morning, on 7 September at 10:30 AM, I signed in at the Ministerio Publico’s (MP) Bilingual Agency and made an official crime report. I was all finished and back home by 1:00 PM.

There is a brand new computerized system for intake of a victim’s crime information. No need for two copies of everything anymore. I did bring my FM3, USA passport, electrical bill and receipt for the purchase of the MacBook Pro. I did not have the receipt for the camera and that was fine, as they believed my statement.

During the entire process, I was accompanied by Licda. Adriana Ramírez, the bilingual Agent (lawyer) of the Public Ministry in charge of the case. Everyone was courteous, polite and professional.

That same evening, at 7:30 PM. a bilingual investigator from the MP came to the house to examine the crime scene. He, also, was very professional, courteous, thorough and polite. He spent one hour and forty-five minutes at the house. The MP will keep me advised of developments re the investigation.

Overall, I give the MP an A for their work today.

Categories: Break-in, Home
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment